Reflective Summary: The ethics of the Internet

This weeks topic saw more variety within the blog posts that I read as there was a choice in which ethical issue we selected. This meant that I explored the digital age in more detail as well as learning about privacy issues, from interacting with other blog posts. This week I focused on my digital tools as that was the aspect that was lacking when reading my feedback.

Nikhil’s comment on my blog post this week questioned me on whether there were any solutions to the issues that I had raised regarding education and the digital divide. The only real effort that I found on a large scale within the UK, was the Home Access scheme. However, this has recently been abolished, leaving a substantial gap in our society for those who need the help. However, Nikhil rightly pointed out that even if we were still providing laptops for these households, the children may not actually get use of them, meaning that the issue still exists.

I focused this week on blog posts that covered a different ethical issue to mine, to broaden my understanding. I commented on Tiffany’s blog post regarding online privacy mentioned that there is an issue with the government being over precautious and taking joke tweets seriously. Whilst I think that this does happen, I feel that the governments control on our social media information is necessary. I linked this to the London riots, which were predominantly organised through social media. Yes, some jokes made online may be taken seriously and result in police investigations but having this system also means that real threats are also monitored. You wouldn’t joke about having a gun in a police station, it’s the same online.

I also commented on Will’s post this week, that presented ethics in terms of employees using social media websites for recruitment purposes. Will discussed some things that could be considered a ‘deterrent’ for an employer and concluded that it was down to personal opinion. However, he also acknowledged that there is extensive criteria to ensure the legality of screening candidates through their online profiles. I questioned Will as to whether these laws were different to if an employer rejected a candidate because of their gender/race from an offline interview or CV.

 

Published by

hannahbuckfield

I am currently a second year BSC Marketing student at the University of Southampton, with particular interest into online advertising and the role of the internet within businesses.

Leave a Reply

